Blizzard is one the biggest game developers in the industry. Some of its more popular titles include World of Warcraft, Overwatch, and Hearthstone, among many, many others. Hearthstone is the one that appears to have landed the company in trouble, that and Hong Kong. It seems the company revoked a title and prize money from a Hearthstone player, and suspended their account. Vox has more details on it but it’s safe to say players aren’t happy and a mass boycott is in order. Players are looking to delete their accounts with Blizzard and if you’re looking to do the same, we have you covered.
Delete a Blizzard account
To delete a Blizzard account, you need to visit this link. It looks like a support page and it mostly is but if you scroll to the end of the instructions (make sure you read them), you will see a ‘Request’ link. Click it. This will allow you to request all your Blizzard data be deleted.
You will have to login with your Blizzard account and confirm that you really want to delete it. There will be a list of all the things that are removed and unrecoverable. Once you click Proceed, the request will be submitted and it can take up to 30 days for the account to be deleted.
In some cases, you may have to provide some form of identification before the account can be deleted. This is likely because many players have spent quite a bit of money on various game titles and deleting an account will remove those purchases completely with no way to recover or refund them. Blizzard needs to know that it’s really you that’s requesting to delete the account.
There are rumors that Blizzard is blocking users from deleting their accounts. This isn’t true. Even if the company were inclined to do something like that, it can’t, legally. Your account will be deleted within the specified time frame or someone, somewhere, will sue Blizzard.
You may experience some difficulty accession the account deletion page if there are one too many users requesting to delete their account. This doesn’t mean that Blizzard is blocking users from deleting their account. This tends to happen when too many people try to access a website at the same time. You can come back in a few hours, or a few days, and try again.
As part of the deletion request, you are asked why you’re deleting your account. You can enter anything you want here.